HomeNewsActivitiesCroatian observers in the EESC

Savez samostalnih sindikata Hrvatske

Trg kralja Petra Krešimira IV. 2,
10 000 Zagreb

tel: + 385 1 46 55 616
tel:+ 385 1 46 55 013
fax: + 385 1 46 55 040

Read more

Croatian observers in the EESC

Brussels, 18 December 2012 - A group of Croatian observers, representing trade unions, employers and civil society, participated for the first time in the work of the European Economic and Social Committee, in its 483rd plenary session held on 18-19 September 2012. Croatian trade unions were represented by Ana Milićević Pezelj (UATUC), Marija Hanževački (NHS) and Vilim Ribić (MHS). Between now and July 2013, when Croatia will officially become the 28th Member State of the European Union, Croatian observers will be regularly following the work of the Committee, getting a feel for its working methods and culture.
At the December session of the EESC, Croatian trade union representatives informed the Workers' Group of the situation in the area of social dialogue and collective bargaining, in particular on the controversial Act on Representativeness and Act on Withholding of Payment of Certain Material Rights to the Employed in Public Services. Consequently, Georgios Dassis, President of the Workers’ Group of EESC, sent letters to the Croatian Prime Minister and the Speaker of Parliament, calling upon the Croatian authorities to respect the values and rights enshrined in the Treaties. The supporting letter was also sent by the ITUC General Secretary, Sharan Burrow.